Go Back   Friends and Family Forum > The Family Forum > Parents

Old December 27th, 2014, 12:58 AM

annesch is on a distinguished road
Close to breaking point because of awful mother.

It's my first time posting in a forum and I'm a bit apprehensive. I've always felt the need to handle it all by myself but I can't any longer. My mother one moment is nice, sweet and supportive and the next a vindictive, jealous, bitter, loud mouthed, obnoxious and a stifling person. I've been married 4 years and each year she comes over with my brother and father to celebrate with. She has 7 siblings who celebrate together, but because of the way she is, she's fallen out with each and every one of them and hence never gets invited. I do, but out of respect for her I choose to have a small do at my place instead.

She has always been over critical of me. I was a chubby teenager and she would belittle me everyday until I resorted to starving myself and developed bulimia. She was physically abusive until I left the house to work. I wore a pair of glasses and I remember my father having to buy a new pair for me every few months because she loved to slap, and punch my face. Despite all that, I chose to forgive her. When I started working. She demanded half my salary despite me not staying at home. If my salary cleared late because of a bank holiday the screaming and shouting would ensue. I don't know why but I was petrified even though I worked 1000 miles away. It seems silly I know, but she was my mother.